Other Views

I get lots of e-mails and comments about different market commentators that may conflict with my views on the market.  Many of them might even be on The Biz Radio Network as frequent guests.  Charles Nenner is one that comes on TheMoneyMan Report frequently and has been accurate as of late.  People will ask me does it change my opinion on the market when I see others that are bullish on the market.

All I know how to do is to relay to you what I’m seeing each day.  Based on what I’m seeing, I think we have more downside.  I commented last Friday I thought there was too much bullishness and I was worried about the market.  The market is now falling and we’re seeing the fear start to tick back up.  I have a lot of respect for many other market analysts out there.  We’re not all always right.  However, lots of market analysts are bullish right now which conflicts with my work.  That’s what worries me about the market.  I simply think there are too many bullish people.  Too many leaning in one direction. 

How should you reconcile conflicting advice you’re getting?  Over the years, I’ve developed relationships with several data sources, newsletters, software vendors, etc.  At this point, I know where to go for the particular information I’m looking for.  I rely on certain data for the economy, certain data on commodities, etc.  That’s what you should be doing.  Using the data that’s available to me, I’ve been able to more than double the performance of the S&P 500 since 2001 on my capital gains portfolio.

We’re always going to have differing views out there.  That’s what makes markets go up and down.  The big money comes when you trade the extremes.  Too many bulls, too many bears, etc.  We’re not at a major extreme but we certainly had a lot of people late last week turning extremely bullish.  That’s a contrarian indicator in a bear market.

0 Responses to “Other Views”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

KARL’S TWITTER (www.twitter.com/karleggerss)

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

