Going Outside Of The Comfort Zone

The stock market has been moving sideways for over a month now and has basically bored me to death.  We’re either breathing before moving higher or about to roll over.  When I can’t tell, I watch from the sidelines which is what I’m doing right now.

Generally when I’m looking to buy equities, I’m focusing in on a few different areas.  Areas I think have long-term growth and demographics to match.  However, in the last few weeks, there have been some stocks performing very well that aren’t generally in my comfort zone to buy.  Some of those areas are airlines, autos, financials, etc.

I’d consider these trades rather than long-term investments.  But, really, nothing in my equity portfolio can be considered a long-term investment.  We’re just not in that type of environment.  We’re in a “I love it until I don’t” environment.  Remember, the fundamentals are one thing.  But, the prices of stocks are controlled by emotional greedy investors.  That’s why a company like Goldman Sachs goes from $200 to $160 in short order.  So for now, I’m focusing on individual names in various industries for trades.  I’ll get back to my comfort areas of growth when the market makes up its mind on which direction it wants to go.

1 Response to “Going Outside Of The Comfort Zone”


  1. 1 Samantha January 2, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Nice Blog, and nice post to, i get so many information in this blog, i will visit this blog frequently…

    I like your post, specially about
    Going Outside Of The Comfort Zone

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

KARL’S TWITTER (www.twitter.com/karleggerss)

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

